Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:03 a.m. - 2006-10-13
Perfect weather day.
When I woke up this morning, the heater was on, and the sun was shining. This is the first cold, crisp morning we've had this year, and honestly this kind of weather changes my entire outlook on life. I Love, Love, LOVE fall!

I love sweaters and boots, fall leaves, and rich autumnal colors. Hot chocolate on cold evenings. Snuggling on the couch with Chloe and Bill under a warm chenille blanket. Pumpkins and mums and no grass to mow. Now is the time to pack away those pale pink nail polish colors and buy rich taupe, eggplant, and coppery bronze.

No more shaving my freaking legs every single day! Whoo hoo! No more tanning. No more cold salads for lunch. Rich thick vegetable soup and grilled cheese for dinner. (comfort food is ALWAYS best when it's cold outside)

Of course, you do realize that since I live in the south, it will be eighty degrees tomorrow!! :-)

Today is Friday. I've lost 4 pounds. I'm having a good hair day. The weather is freaking perfect. And it's Friday the 13th. Something's gonna happen. It's just my pessimism rearing its ugly head, but the ax will fall. Trust me on this.

Last night I took my munchkin to the optometrist and GUESS WHO NEEDS READING GLASSES?? (I'll give you a clue: since I already have a pretty hefty prescription, it ain't me) Chloe does! She's loving it, too. We ordered cute little brushed nickel flex frames and she's so beautiful that glasses don't detract from her gorgeous eyes. BUT... I'm a little depressed about it. I knew we'd have to get them eventually since every single person I'm related to by birth or marriage wears either glasses or contacts. I just didn't think we'd have to get them so early. On the bright side, Chloe doesn't have to wear them while playing, only in class, reading, watching tv, or playing her Nintendo DS. Am I bad to be bummed about something so superficial?

Deep dark secret: Honestly, my very fucking first thought when the doc prescribed glasses was, "I've never seen a cheerleader wearing specs." I guess I'm secretly yearning for my daughter to be the perfect, popular girl. Is that so bad of me? I mean, I was on the flip side of that shit when I was in school and let me tell ya, high school wasn't so fucking fabulous for me. Damn. I'm a fucking snot!!

Oh well. I'm sure I'll grow out of it.

Happy Friday!
Now go rake some leaves or somthing.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!