Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:54 p.m. - 2006-12-29
Drink. Drank. Drunk. What are your New Year's Plans???
New Year's plans I have not young ones.

In my (almost) 33rd year, I have decreed that there shall be no drinking until 2am, because I can't handle the hangovers. Yep, I'm a wus. Deal.

This year, the kid, spouse, and I will go out to a nice dinner, and probably be in bed by 11ish. BUT I will be the bright eyed chipper person on January 1st, who rolls out of bed at the crack of dawn with no headache. Honestly, starting out January 1st feeling good is the best New Year's present.

Several months ago I stopped drinking so much. Not completely, but not nearly as much. I'm learning to lose the high school mentality that all good times must revolve around beer bongs and shots of tequila. I don't need to prove how I can hold my liquor (that's a good thang too because I honestly Can't!) It feels really good to wake up at 7am on a Saturday and have energy. Not feel like a cat shit in my mouth and that my eyes are full of sand. I'm enjoying life without hangovers. I'm not saying I was an alcoholic. BUT I think I was dangerously close. At least on the weekends. Now I can limit myself to a couple of cosmos or a beer or two on the weekend. It feels good. Really good.

Now if I could just get rid of my beer belly....

I didn't mean for this to sound all sanctimonious and 'down with demon alcohol'. I drink. I don't have a problem with others who partake as well. But as a child of three alcoholic parents, I'm very, very self aware of what I ingest in the name of a good time.

Now pass me my Zoloft. Traffic looks like hell for the drive home.

Happy New Year.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!