Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:40 a.m. - 2006-06-30
yeah, i'm totally burning in hell for this one.
Chloe has been in vacation bible school all week with a friend. I don't really have a problem with her going. I'm a little concerned with the brain washing and shit that goes on at these events, but I think as her parent, I can temper all that jesus-y crap with good common sense.

Or maybe not.

The theme for the past week has been some type of cheerleading. So far my daughter has brought home a popcicle stick cross with a 'god's eye' in the center made out of embroidery thread. This was disturbing to me, so I chased her around the house with the thing screeching "the god's eye is gonna GET you!!" Ya know, to try and induce a little humor into a somewhat frightening scenario. I also asked her if she really believed god was watching her... even in the shower. You should've seen the look on her face when I brought that little tidbit to the table.

Last night she brought home a light switch cover and a red beaded necklace. Both covered in chili peppers touting the phrase "All fired up for Jesus". Now to someone, like me, with severe acid reflux, that's just not funny. As a matter of fact, I'm thinking about talking to that pastor about his heart burn bigotry. It's offensive I tell ya!

Luckily last night was the last of it until next year. My child is officially all churched up for the next 365 days. It was parents' night, but we were 'forgiven' from that particular chore as the kid wanted to go with a friend's parent. (gee, ya think she's catching on?)

Anywhoo, she had to wear something cheerleaderish and now I'm wondering what exactly happened? I mean, how do you combine religion with such a superficial pasttime? Did she do hurkeys for Jesus? Or what about heel stretches for Heaven? Cartwheels for Christ???

Disturbing, isn't it?

I'm sure we'll spend the next three weeks deprogramming our child. Because I'm also a PARANOID atheist.

Have fun over the holiday. Blow something up, but remember.....

The god's eye is WATCHING YOUUUUU!!!!!

Happy Friday.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!