Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:19 a.m. - 2006-03-21
house hunting
Guess what I've been doing?

HOUSE HUNTING!

Isn't that fun? Okay, for clarification's sake, you just have to understand that I'm the type of girl who loves all things HGTV. Yep. I do. When I was 5 years old I told my mom that I wanted to be an interior designer. I used to fill notebooks and notebooks with diagrams of homes that I made up in my head. I'm talking a 9 year old making specs showing closet depths and window sizes. I still love to do it. I have my dream house completely mapped out on graph paper. :-)

Back to the story: house hunting. Groovn-husband and I went to look at a few houses over the weekend. I've reached the unfortunate conclusion that we're not going to be able to afford new construction. That really sucks, but at $100 per square foot I can't really justify a mortgage payment that large. The dilemna we're running in to is that our 'starter home' is about 2000 square feet. That's pretty large for a first house, but we lucked into a hell of a deal that needed major updating. We bought it, then we spent the last 5 years changing almost every surface in the home. Groovn-husband is a reluctant do-it-yourselfer at best, but he knows home improvement shit makes me happy so... he's a good man and plays well with others.

We have planted pretty stuff outside. I won't go into any great detail of the landscaping, because all of the pretty stuff I plant dies so I have to fucking replant shit every goddamned year when I just spent a fucking fortune on flowers that are SUPPOSED TO COME BACK EACH YEAR YOU LITTLE MOTHER FUCKER!!

*deep breaths*

A gardener I'm not. Anywhoo... I've refinished kitchen cabinets complete with all new hardware, changed 70's lighting to fixtures that are pretty and shiny and modern. We've restained bathroom vanities, retiled floors, carpeted the living room, painted every freaking room in the house (some, like the kitchen have been painted FOUR times because I get tired of colors easily) New faucets and brushed nickel bathroom stuff. A new hot water heater, and central air unit. Removed shabby sliding glass doors and replaced them with beautiful french doors with 4 and a quarter inch molding with the little decorative square caps with the swirls in the middle. I don't know what they're called, just that the look good. New baseboards in the bathrooms. New shades for the sunroom. Resealed the skylights.

I could keep going on and on and on. So we've put all of this work into the home and I can't find anything new that I like as well. We need bigger closets and a larger back yard. We want brand new appliances and at least 2300 square feet. We want a big garage as well.

We're contemplating a move to get Chloe into a better school district. I just have to temper my desire for a more urban lifestyle with our need for a good school.

ha ha. I said 'urban'. Dude, I live in Arkansas. What an oxy-moron!

Unfortunately I didn't get any photos of the houses we looked at. We did find a 2 story brick with a garage and a new deck. It's very, very pretty, but needs carpet in the bedrooms. It was all subdivisiony and shit and it an good school district.

Wish me luck!


 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!